love of a sailor

You taught me something new, a different kind of love;
you made aware my heart of the press of time
reaching always past my petty defenses with your eyes.
You fell softly sideways into my life
that smile
your crooked eyebrow

that smile

I feel like a child
when you wear your serious face.
and yet I cannot be childish,
because you see right through
and you know
I am capable of being a woman.

And I want you to know “I love you” never means
“I can’t live without you” because I have to
I know
and we all have to do things we don’t want to do.

we both know love and pain
i think
i am stronger than you think me

I want to thank you for lending your smile.
thank you for the smile of your hand.
for the hand of another god.
the warmth

(I’d love to take care of you, I loved
to sleep there, close, loved to
keep you warm because) –

that’s just how I am.

You are something special.
Whoever’s heart you fall into
Was standing under the lucky tree.

You taught me how to talk to you

And the most important
is that I taught you something, too
it is this that makes my smile the widest
and makes my spirit shine.

April ’07

2 Responses to “love of a sailor”


  1. 1 Carrie January 14, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    I stumbled across your site, and your poetry is absolutely amazing.

  2. 2 Bec January 15, 2008 at 8:10 am

    Thankyou very much!


Leave a Reply

Welcome…

This blog is the collection of my poetry and prose, in chronological order from most recent to oldest.

Constructive critique is actively encouraged!

I am usually singing words as well as writing them, and make lots of other art. You can find me & my other art at any of the below links. x

Latest quick update…

  • I have pretty horrendous heart pain right now, @JohnMayer is helping me through it. Like, his music, not in person. But that’d be cool too. tweeted 16 hours ago

Pages

Archives

Categories

COPYRIGHT

All content on this blog © Rebecca Tilley, 2003-present

