whispergrowl II

he is –
but no
I cannot

but he is –
and oh
he can

his growl reverberating
back of my neck, the breath
the sound

his mane

the way I remember him
the way gentle words remind me of him

my bones
hear him stalking around my house
hear his presence in the dark

his endless circles

dead eyes
and a hopeful heart
perhaps bruised
perhaps my fault

but I paid for my mistake

now I remember

He is –
but no
I cannot

July ’07 

2 Responses to “whispergrowl II”


  1. 1 erinjeanine January 6, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    oh how i wish this wasn’t true, but every word is. the longing for something, for someone. every part of you knows better than to want, but you feel it anyways. and his presence, it never quite goes away.

    you are so amazing.

    thank you so much for this. i think it’s going on my wall

  2. 2 Bec January 13, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    I am so glad you connected with this poem so much. and my other poems. thankyou for your lovely comments. if I can touch someone’s heart then that’s what really matters 🙂


Leave a Reply

Welcome…

This blog is the collection of my poetry and prose, in chronological order from most recent to oldest.

Constructive critique is actively encouraged!

I am usually singing words as well as writing them, and make lots of other art. You can find me & my other art at any of the below links. x

Latest quick update…

Pages

Archives

Categories

COPYRIGHT

All content on this blog © Rebecca Tilley, 2003-present

