Writing news

I recently sent eight of my poems off to Ralph Wessman at Famous Reporter. My friend and fellow poet (he’s a professional one, no less!) Geoff Goodfellow encouraged me to do so, and Mr. Wessman himself judged the recent poetry reading night at my school (in which I won second place) so I decided I should definitely give it a go. Especially since on the Famous Reporter website it says “New, emerging and young poets are especially encouraged to submit work.” So I reckon I am in with a fighting chance!

Something else exciting came up tonight. That poetry reading night opened another opportunity for me. I was emailed by one of the teachers who ran the event, who asked me to email the poems I read to a lady by the name of Elizabeth Winfield. I had no idea who Ms. Winfield was or why I was being asked to send my poems to her, I supposed she was someone at the school who would be publishing them in the yearbook or something like that, as some such thing had been mentioned to me before. So I emailed her my poems, and today when checking my email found a reply from her. I am waiting on permission to post the email here, but the gist of it was that she liked my writing and apparently my poems will be published in the November edition of The Poets’ Republic, of which I believe she is Editor. Some information on this publication can be found here: http://www.the-write-stuff.com.au/archives/vol-4/republic.html

It seems Ms. Winfield has also worked with Mr. Wessman. That’s something I love about the Tasmanian community, in any field – everyone is connected somehow, and so if you are recommended by one person, there are possibilities for recommendations from many people. And for all its small size, Tasmania seems to constantly produce the goods in unexpected ways in many fields. It seems that we are a small island of highly concentrated talent. It makes me proud to be a Tasmanian, as corny as that sounds. There is something special about this place.

Leave a Reply

Welcome…

This blog is the collection of my poetry and prose, in chronological order from most recent to oldest.

Constructive critique is actively encouraged!

I am usually singing words as well as writing them, and make lots of other art. You can find me & my other art at any of the below links. x

Latest quick update…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Pages

Archives

Categories

COPYRIGHT

All content on this blog © Rebecca Tilley, 2003-present

