My America

my America
tastes like sesame seeds on fresh bread
My America is not cruel and arrogant.
My America thinks before it speaks.
my America is loud and hearty generosity,
cactii and gaudy rugs
spotless trendy highrise
apartments full of light.
My America does not just
barge in
and my America knows its grammar.
My America is not about
conquering the world,
biggestfasteststrongestlongest –
My America is about life
it smells like coffee and laughter
and is a teacher of strength.
My America does not sound
like angry suits, cash registers and bombs

The real America
the true America
has the voice of the gospel women.

September ’07

6 Responses to “My America”


  1. 1 philosophyoflife October 3, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    A delightful expression of how Proud (and quite rightly so) of such a wonderful nation as the United States.

    You have put into words – from the heart – the importance of a Nation to which the world often tries to emulate.

    Good Luck with your poetry.

    Peter

  2. 2 pizazz October 4, 2007 at 3:27 am

    Thankyou. I have only visited America once a long time ago, but I have step-relatives from America and I am often fascinated by American history, especially the story of the evolution of gospel music and the people who created it. Thus I see a lot of beauty in the USA, and I think it’s a pity everyone seems to notice all the bad stuff and not the good stuff.

  3. 3 sofiane0092 November 17, 2007 at 9:31 pm

    your says are all true and i hope that one day i visite america my lady god bless america

  4. 4 sofiane0092 November 17, 2007 at 9:33 pm

    good luck inyr life and try to write mor becaus yr poat move as blood in the vascules or in the heart

  5. 5 sghost November 30, 2007 at 6:19 am

    The surprising was my feeling when i read your writing ,you are really creative go on ……..


Leave a Reply

Welcome…

This blog is the collection of my poetry and prose, in chronological order from most recent to oldest.

Constructive critique is actively encouraged!

I am usually singing words as well as writing them, and make lots of other art. You can find me & my other art at any of the below links. x

Latest quick update…

Pages

Archives

Categories

COPYRIGHT

All content on this blog © Rebecca Tilley, 2003-present

