Perfect Hero Height

You are ‘Perfect Hero Height’
– according to Disney
or someone of equal repute
(but you always hated Disney.)
I was a Pirate Queen –
– still am, ‘neath the garbage,
underneath the ever-present pressure
of being alone

I never thought of myself
as a damsel in distress
Though you rescued me often enough
you were also
the cause of my plight

As your pendulum swung back and forth,
I made up my mind –
a thousand times.
I climbed out of that tower
but halfway down
felt I’d forgotten something
and climbed back up.

You were always there before me;
your arms warm, those perfect hero eyes
So sincere;
Your smile disarming
the perfect hero’s charm in
all its fatal strength.

Yet you yourself
never understood
length.

And though you were
of Perfect Hero Height
your mind had other ideas
you allowed yourself Confusion

While Prince Charming
would’ve known exactly what to do,
you remained human
and I loved you

But now you live by a different book,
You are more the kindly wizard
advising me on my way –
(though not quite tall enough)
I am the strong-willed, beautiful
slightly off-balance
princess

now I am on my own
I have your guidance, but
you know
you’re not quite wizard-tall,
not quite

you’re perfect hero height.

September ’07

2 Responses to “Perfect Hero Height”


  1. 1 philosophyoflife October 7, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    Intrigued – with a sense of mystique.

  2. 2 pizazz October 8, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    Thankyou very much 🙂


Leave a Reply

Welcome…

This blog is the collection of my poetry and prose, in chronological order from most recent to oldest.

Constructive critique is actively encouraged!

I am usually singing words as well as writing them, and make lots of other art. You can find me & my other art at any of the below links. x

Latest quick update…

Pages

Archives

Categories

COPYRIGHT

All content on this blog © Rebecca Tilley, 2003-present

