Weight

Weight – I 

This body
I am contained within
this shudder and slouch
imprisonment and confinement
weights of flesh, juddering
through life, a weight
so inexplicably
yet inescapably
burdensome

Harbouring revulsion
i am a dancer
i just want to be
             …light
i just want to
blend in
with beauty
i just want
                    freedom

Weight – II

This mind
I am contained within
a swing so strange
imprisonment and confinement
weighed in silence, a view
Irrational; yet so believable
sway
each extreme
and self control
stolen sleep

I was a dreamer.
I just want to feel
              …light
I just want
to see
the blend;
I just want
                    freedom.

September ’07

6 Responses to “Weight”


  1. 1 cupideros October 5, 2007 at 2:38 am

    Cool. I like the first one better because there is more movement.

    *thumbsup*

    –cupideros

  2. 2 pizazz October 5, 2007 at 6:59 am

    Thankyou much. They are two parts of a whole.

  3. 3 tikki October 31, 2007 at 1:13 am

    beyond inspirational.
    I love both, but the first one just hits a personal and thoughtful nerve in me.

    i will be lurking here 😉

  4. 4 pizazz October 31, 2007 at 1:36 am

    Thankyou very much. I’m glad you enjoyed it… both are about the same thing. the second one is just about the mental side of it.

    Feel free to lurk 🙂 Comments are nice too though! 😛

  5. 5 tikki October 31, 2007 at 2:16 am

    I think this is why the first poem struck me so much:

    “a weight
    so inexplicably
    yet inescapably
    burdensome”

    …i’ve recently went from seeing my body as something that hindered me, something that slowed me down, something that stopped me from going to the places that I most desired – to something that is the exact oppisite, to something that enables me to put my thoughts, actions, desires and dreams into reality.

    Perhaps reading this another day it wouldn’t ring so true to me 🙂

  6. 6 pizazz October 31, 2007 at 3:52 am

    I hope I can make the same transition you have someday 🙂


Leave a Reply

Welcome…

This blog is the collection of my poetry and prose, in chronological order from most recent to oldest.

Constructive critique is actively encouraged!

I am usually singing words as well as writing them, and make lots of other art. You can find me & my other art at any of the below links. x

Latest quick update…

Pages

Archives

Categories

COPYRIGHT

All content on this blog © Rebecca Tilley, 2003-present

