Tempest

It has been said
that Ariel was in Prospero’s head;
and that Shakespeare
wished he could write for women instead.
Prospera a lady of split personality
Antonia and Sebastianne, sly bitches that they were
did not understand the ways of the mothers.
Alonsa’s grief far outdid my own,
put to shame my shaking hands
and halting breath.
Within the whirling of my own tempest
my tears did not know their cause
or reason;
But perhaps I am not so much to blame.
perhaps behind the scenes some unseen mage
controlled the storm with power of her staff;
which then she broke, her farewell to the stage.

October ’07

4 Responses to “Tempest”


  1. 1 philosophyoflife October 5, 2007 at 1:46 pm

    An ‘inspiration’ for any budding script writer – who is in need of talent – such as I read here in you.

    Well done.

  2. 2 pizazz October 5, 2007 at 1:56 pm

    Haha, thankyou! I’ve never tried writing scripts… perhaps I should 😛

  3. 3 brightsilentthought November 21, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    A very difficult style to write…(not that I’ve tried much)…but you pull it off well. Am I right in assuming its a sonnet? (show’s how much I know about poetry…)

    I like it a lot!

  4. 4 pizazz November 22, 2007 at 11:59 pm

    Oh no, it’s not a sonnet, nothing like one! It’s not written in any particular style. It just happens to be about Shakespeare. 😛


Leave a Reply

Welcome…

This blog is the collection of my poetry and prose, in chronological order from most recent to oldest.

Constructive critique is actively encouraged!

I am usually singing words as well as writing them, and make lots of other art. You can find me & my other art at any of the below links. x

Latest quick update…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Pages

Archives

Categories

COPYRIGHT

All content on this blog © Rebecca Tilley, 2003-present

