men

I smell my lover in my kitchen
and sometimes my clothes
when I’ve been hanging round his memory
or cooking something
especially nourishing

I smell my gifter in my bedroom and my cameras and my work
I smell the man I once knew in his hair in a box
there with the love letter that was more an apology
and the sweatiest piece
of stripey headscarf

I smell my youngest oldest friend in coffee
which is a pity, really
since that is the way I am trying to seduce
this new man

but then my males do tend
to overlap each other

they’re all angels

this new man is beautiful and shy
like my lover once seemed
I wonder if he, too, will become a rarity

a once-in-six-months company

the end

January ’08

22 Responses to “men”


  1. 1 saranblog January 16, 2008 at 5:25 am

    nice quotes

  2. 2 Bec January 16, 2008 at 7:04 am

    I’m not sure I understand what you mean by “quotes”… but thankyou.

  3. 3 Babycakes January 18, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    Very nice. I enjoyed this poem.

  4. 4 Jasmine Flower January 18, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    Wonderfully written! I like the “mood” you have created here…

  5. 5 adventuresofthequeen January 18, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    nice poem. I have poems too, but I’m to embarrassed to publish them. they’re deep. maybe I’ll post some.

  6. 7 x1rf January 19, 2008 at 9:04 am

    hell-o…notingto say.. i just wanna tell you that the words from your song is really good. i think i fell in love with it.

  7. 8 kaliedoscopeeyes January 20, 2008 at 7:35 am

    I like this. it seems broken up, but then, I know how you’re feeling here, and that’s how I always feel. Your words hit home. Thanks, good work.

  8. 9 danialtm January 20, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    Amazing..

  9. 10 salomeroy January 22, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    just passed by i liked it
    salome

  10. 12 awsiv January 22, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    this one’s slow and smooth…

  11. 13 pleasetellmeyourjoking January 22, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    I like this a lot.

  12. 14 David January 22, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Nice. I like how you use “gifter”. Now go forth and seduce your Juan Valdez of Love.

  13. 15 telesbrize January 23, 2008 at 1:36 am

    your writing is beautiful and different. great work!

  14. 16 Bec January 23, 2008 at 7:40 am

    Thankyou to everyone who has commented. Feedback is the best. And to adventuresofthequeen – you should publish it! The internet is a good place to publish, being interactive and pliable.

  15. 17 Marissa January 24, 2008 at 1:18 am

    Beautiful. The last three lines really hit home to me…recent break-up destruction repair going on in my life. I’m adding you to my blogroll. This made me feel better somehow.

    Good luck with the new man.

  16. 18 Aabhi January 24, 2008 at 10:01 am

    nice i really like it as …… my thoughts is same ….ok keep it up

  17. 19 Paul January 24, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    I particularly liked this line:

    I smell my youngest oldest friend in coffee

    Well done!

  18. 20 Sheryl Graham January 25, 2008 at 1:50 am

    What I really really like about your writing is that it makes you stop to think about the message you are sending. And when you think you’ve figured it out, you take another turn. Very thought provoking style and you are a very talented writer. Stay with it!

  19. 22 Bec January 28, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    Thankyou all, especially Marissa and Sheryl.


Leave a Reply

Welcome…

This blog is the collection of my poetry and prose, in chronological order from most recent to oldest.

Constructive critique is actively encouraged!

I am usually singing words as well as writing them, and make lots of other art. You can find me & my other art at any of the below links. x

Latest quick update…

Pages

Archives

Categories

COPYRIGHT

All content on this blog © Rebecca Tilley, 2003-present

