rain

you are callous
and I am a bit like tissue paper
when it’s wet
when I’m wet

you’ve got forms beyond my experience
shapeshifting and bullshitting,
you’re honest because you believe everything you say
with complete conviction

No, I would not call you a liar;
You’re simply
so stubborn in your belief
of your own words,
that the world bends to your will

it isn’t “simply”
and it took me forever to work that out.

I am precious
and you are a bit like rain
when it’s unforgiving
when I’m underneath it

rain does not lie
and I hate it
for always being right.

January ’08

7 Responses to “rain”


  1. 1 saranblog January 20, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    hi dude..nice poetry.. Do you have any experience on love?
    I have blogrolled you because i like poetry very much. Hope u reciprocate..
    Visit my blogs if you wish..My blogs are http://saranblog.wordpress.com and http://rarepics.wordpress.com

  2. 2 awsiv January 22, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    a bit of anger and lots of understanding… nice one!

  3. 3 Bec January 23, 2008 at 7:45 am

    Thankyou… and to saranblog, since this is my professional website (to refer prospective employers to) I’m sorry but I only link to professional websites in my blogroll.

  4. 4 Scot January 25, 2008 at 1:37 am

    Love the last stanza–makes the poem

  5. 5 Bec January 28, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Thankyou much.

  6. 6 brightsilentthought February 12, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    Beautiful and moving. You show your feelings, making yourself vulnerable and open in this poem. Thank you.

  7. 7 Bec June 8, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Well my friend, that is what poetry (and art in general) is all about, I believe. Opening oneself up and being vulnerable.


Leave a Reply

Welcome…

This blog is the collection of my poetry and prose, in chronological order from most recent to oldest.

Constructive critique is actively encouraged!

I am usually singing words as well as writing them, and make lots of other art. You can find me & my other art at any of the below links. x

Latest quick update…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Pages

Archives

Categories

COPYRIGHT

All content on this blog © Rebecca Tilley, 2003-present

