bird II

you crept into my heart like a bright bug,
stung me
and left;
always sincere in your promises
and yet you always broke them.

I waited for you,
first in the cold foyer
then in the echoing house
I didn’t let myself hope –
perhaps that’s why you didn’t come.

one should never count on birds

you are not to blame.
but you never made
any effort
to be part of the ‘real world’.

you’re flying home now
with the tattered tassels of my
potential inspiration

and all I can think of to say
is thankyou.

October ’10

0 Responses to “bird II”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome…

This blog is the collection of my poetry and prose, in chronological order from most recent to oldest.

Constructive critique is actively encouraged!

I am usually singing words as well as writing them, and make lots of other art. You can find me & my other art at any of the below links. x

Latest quick update…

Pages

Archives

Categories

COPYRIGHT

All content on this blog © Rebecca Tilley, 2003-present

