and fly

new wind,
a breeze blows into town.
i leave my heart with you,
my stomach, every heavy thing
and open like a hollow sail
to the sky;

returning to immensity,
air so cold
it takes my breath by force
and I’m truly          beautifully
.                                 empty

it wasn’t you that bound me

this freedom, not your absence
but an unthinking
on my part
releasing the ballast,
leaving the anchor behind

and then i remember –
high above the river
as the clouds  blow through me
– it was you
who handed me the key

and i opened,
then (so long ago)
and now
like a sail
unfurled
and fly.

May ’12

1 Response to “and fly”


  1. 1 Lila September 20, 2012 at 4:18 pm

    Some elegant pieces of poetry here. I nominated you for The Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Really enjoy your stuff.

    Cheers!
    Lila

    To accept the award and get the award logo for your website, visit this link for details:
    http://litwist.wordpress.com/2012/09/19/award-the-very-inspiring-blogger-award/


Leave a Reply

Welcome…

This blog is the collection of my poetry and prose, in chronological order from most recent to oldest.

Constructive critique is actively encouraged!

I am usually singing words as well as writing them, and make lots of other art. You can find me & my other art at any of the below links. x

Latest quick update…

  • I have pretty horrendous heart pain right now, @JohnMayer is helping me through it. Like, his music, not in person. But that’d be cool too. tweeted 16 hours ago

Pages

Archives

Categories

COPYRIGHT

All content on this blog © Rebecca Tilley, 2003-present

