new york, may 2013

in new york
i met my hidden fear
exposed in bright lights

i have spent my life
wanting less of me;
ashamed to exist, bodily,
afraid to take up space.

pleading –
can’t i be
a beautiful idea
pure light
wisp of thought?

years spent trying to fade.
how was I surprised
when I failed to shine?

fire with no fuel.
song with no strength.

you cannot forge a path
apologising for your presence.
striving to be small –
you cannot grow.

so, now
can I step forward?
is there space for me
at my truest?
is there room
for my honest heart
at its fullest?

am i able?

the paths are wider here,
the people flow.
but i still fear.
i do not know.

5.13

1 Response to “new york, may 2013”


  1. 1 Alex May 21, 2013 at 2:03 pm

    hard not to sing it as a show tune as I am reading it… But that is not a reflection on it. I like it. It has some real strength and a few lovely turns of phrase.


Leave a Reply

Welcome…

This blog is the collection of my poetry and prose, in chronological order from most recent to oldest.

Constructive critique is actively encouraged!

I am usually singing words as well as writing them, and make lots of other art. You can find me & my other art at any of the below links. x

Latest quick update…

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Pages

Archives

Categories

COPYRIGHT

All content on this blog © Rebecca Tilley, 2003-present

